APT Satellite

If you wish to list your organisation on the site or wish to enquire about the 'Featured Organisation' slot - please contact Chris Ayres.

Regulators & Telecommunication Authorities

What's this item about? What makes it interesting? Write a catchy description to grab your audience's attention...

Hong Kong

The Department of Communications and the Arts advises the Australian Government about the communications industry—television, radio, Internet, phone, post, and the changes in digital technologies. We undertake analysis, provide advice and develop and deliver programmes so Australians can enjoy the benefits of modern communications.


The Australian Communications and Media Authority (the ACMA) is a statutory authority within the federal government portfolio of Communications and the Arts.

The ACMA is Australia's regulator for:

  • broadcasting

  • the internet

  • radiocommunications

  • telecommunications.

It was formed was in July 2005 when the Australian Communications Authority (ACA) merged with the Australian Broadcasting Authority (ABA).


American Samoa Telecommunications Authority (ASTCA) is the government owned incumbent Local Exchange Carrier and telecommunications provider in the U.S. Territory of American Samoa. Previously operated under the auspices of the Office of Public Works (1963), and later as the Office of Communications (1972), ASTCA was created as an enterprise fund in 1998 to operate independently. In 2009 ASTCA was awarded a US $91 million project by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Rural Utility Services (RUS) to build and deploy a fiber to the premises project aptly named the Broadband Linking the American Samoa Territory (B.L.A.S.T.). ASTCA also operates an Internet Services Provider, Long Distance Exchange, and Mobile CDMA network with EVDO Rev. A (3G) data services.

American Samoa

In order to facilitate a quick and stable socio-economic development and to provide a dependable telecommunication services, Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission (BTRC) was formed on 31st January of 2002, under the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Act 2001.


Promoting the development of reliable and sustainable information, communications and transport networks and systems and facilitating the provision of affordable and easier access to associated services, particularly to meet the basic social needs and help improve living standards of people in rural and far-flung communities of Bhutan.


Recognizing the vital importance of information in today’s knowledge-based society driven by information technology, and with the need to create proper institutional and legal framework for a sound and holistic development of the information and communication technology (ICT) sectors in the Kingdom, the Royal Government created the Ministry of Information and Communications in 2003 through bifurcation of the erstwhile Ministry of Communications with the aim to tap the potential of rapid change in the field of information and communications technology (ICT) and cater to the regulatory and policy needs of the information and communications in the country.

As a part of the restructuring exercises of the Royal Government, the Department of Information and Media was created within this new Ministry to implement the Royal Government’s policies, plans and programmes relating to information and media sector. With the objective of the Government to ensure the right of the people to know and learn, information will be made available to all Bhutanese and to that end, the Department will strive to promote professional and healthy information and media industry in the country.

As a focal information and media agency of the Government (within MoIC) the Department of Information and Media will be responsible for content and strategy development for all forms of information and media, assessing impact of media on society, and media programme development and management.


The Ministry of Communications was set up in the year 1984, soon after Brunei Darussalam gained its independence. The departments accountable for under the Ministry of Communications are the Department of Telecommunications, the Postal Services Department, the Department of Civil Aviation, the Land Transport Department, the Ports Department and the Marine Department. Since 1st April 2006, Department of Telecommunications has been corporatised and known as Telekom Brunei Berhad (TelBru).

Brunei Darussalam

1 / 2

Please reload

CONNECT WITH US: made simple... 

© 2020 DS AIR Limited. Satellite Evolution Group is a wholly-owned subsidiary of DS Air Limited. United Kingdom


  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon