Arianespace to launch digital TV broadcast satellites for Brazil and Indonesia


For its second flight of the year from the Guiana Space Center, and the first Ariane 5 launch in 2017, Arianespace will orbit two satellites: SKY Brasil-1 for the operator AT&T/DIRECTV; and Telkom 3S for Telkom Indonesia, within the scope of a turnkey contract with Thales Alenia Space.

The launch will be from Ariane Launch Complex No. 3 (ELA 3) in Kourou, French Guiana. Liftoff is planned on Tuesday,February 14, 2017 as early as possible within the following launch window:

Between 4:39 p.m. and 6:05 p.m., Washington D.C. time

Between 6:39 p.m. and 8:05 p.m., Kourou time in French Guiana

Between 7:39 p.m. and 9:05 p.m., Brasilia time

Between 21:39 and 23:05, Universal Time (UTC)

Between 10:39 p.m. and 00:05 p.m., Paris time during the night of February 14 to 15

Between 4.39 a.m. and 6:05 a.m., Jakarta time, Indonesia, on February 15

The nominal duration of the mission (from liftoff to separation of the satellites) is 39 minutes, 43 seconds. The targeted orbit is:

Perigee altitude: 250 km.

Apogee altitude: 35,736 km.

Inclination: 4 degrees

SKY Brasil-1(also known as SKYB-1) will be the 10th satellite launched by Arianespace for the operator AT&T/DIRECTV. The most recent launch was on May 27, 2015, lofting SKY México-1 and DIRECTV 15 on the same Ariane 5. AT&T/DIRECTV, a world leading provider of digital television programs, will use the SKY Brasil-1 satellite via its DIRECTV Latin America subsidiary. SKY Brasil-1 is a high-definition television (HDTV) broadcast satellite. Weighing approximately 6,000 kg. at launch, it is fitted with 60 Ku-band transponders. SKY Brasil-1 will be positioned at 43.1° West, and will cover Brazil. The satellite was built by Airbus Defence and Space in Toulouse, France, using the Eurostar E3000 platform.

After Telkom 1 and Telkom 2 respectively launched in 1999 and 2005,Telkom 3S will be the third satellite entrusted to Arianespace by Telkom Indonesia, this time within the scope of a turnkey contract with Thales Alenia Space. Telkom Indonesia is an Indonesian state-owned company that supplies telecommunications, information, media and entertainment services (TIMES) to millions of customers throughout the Indonesian archipelago.

Telkom 3S will provide high-definition television services (HDTV), as well as mobile communications and internet applications. Positioned at 118° East, Telkom 3S will provide C-band coverage of Indonesia and Southeast Asia, while extended C-band beams will cover Indonesia and part of Malaysia.

It also is fitted with Ku-band transponders dedicated to national coverage. Telkom 3S was built by Thales Alenia Space in Toulouse and Cannes, France, using a Spacebus 4000B2 platform.

19 views

CONNECT WITH US: ...marketing made simple... 

© 2020 DS AIR Limited. Satellite Evolution Group is a wholly-owned subsidiary of DS Air Limited. United Kingdom

Email: admin@dsairpublications.com

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon