Satcoms Innovation Group welcomes new academic members

The Satcoms Innovation Group (SIG) has recently welcomed two new academic members to the forum. The University of Auckland, NZ and The South West Centre of Excellence in Satellite Applications, Cornwall, UK. The Satcoms Innovation Group promotes innovation within the satellite communications industry, with the aim of improving operational efficiency and reducing impact. The academic tier is the latest membership category within the group and is part of the group’s initiative to further engagement with the academic community. Helen Weedon, Managing Director, SIG, explains; “The satellite ecosystem is currently facing unprecedented change, in order to continue to adapt SIG needs to welcome fresh perspectives on the current challenges. It’s particularly important, that we’re engaging with research and development outside of the commercial sector. At the same time, offering students networking opportunities early in their career, means the engineers of the future will be better connected.” The University of Auckland undertakes research and development in a number of important areas including; deployable structures, optical communication ground station networks and plasma micro-propulsion technology. Dr Pau Medrano, Business Development Manager – Science & Engineering, The University of Auckland, explains “New Zealand is starting to define its place in the fast-growing international space sector. The Institute supports an industry which will have a strong impact on our technological, economic and social future. SIG membership offers our researchers and students the opportunity to collaborate with industry professionals, in order to expand our collective innovative capacities.” The South West Centre of Excellence in Satellite Applications (SWCoESA) is based in Cornwall, with the University of Exeter as the lead delivery partner. SWCoESA helps regional innovators to develop and commercialise Space technologies and satellite applications. Its four key themes are eHealth, Marine, Mining and Natural Capital. The Centre consortium consists of the University of Exeter (Lead), University of Plymouth and Falmouth University and also has support from key Space industry stakeholders, including the UK Space Agency, Satellite Applications Catapult, European Space Agency, Spaceport Cornwall and Goonhilly Earth Station.

CONNECT WITH US: made simple... 

© 2020 DS AIR Limited. Satellite Evolution Group is a wholly-owned subsidiary of DS Air Limited. United Kingdom


  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon