Arianespace to launch digital TV broadcast satellites for Brazil and Indonesia

Arianespace to launch digital TV broadcast satellites for Brazil and Indonesia

February 7, 2017

 

For its second flight of the year from the Guiana Space Center, and the first Ariane 5 launch in 2017, Arianespace will orbit two satellites: SKY Brasil-1 for the operator AT&T/DIRECTV; and Telkom 3S for Telkom Indonesia, within the scope of a turnkey contract with Thales Alenia Space.

 

The launch will be from Ariane Launch Complex No. 3 (ELA 3) in Kourou, French Guiana. Liftoff is planned on Tuesday,February 14, 2017 as early as possible within the following launch window:

 

Between 4:39 p.m. and 6:05 p.m., Washington D.C. time

Between 6:39 p.m. and 8:05 p.m., Kourou time in French Guiana

Between 7:39 p.m. and 9:05 p.m., Brasilia time

Between 21:39 and 23:05, Universal Time (UTC)

Between 10:39 p.m. and 00:05 p.m., Paris time during the night of February 14 to 15

Between 4.39 a.m. and 6:05 a.m., Jakarta time, Indonesia, on February 15

 

The nominal duration of the mission (from liftoff to separation of the satellites) is 39 minutes, 43 seconds. The targeted orbit is:

 

Perigee altitude: 250 km.

Apogee altitude: 35,736 km.

Inclination: 4 degrees

 

SKY Brasil-1(also known as SKYB-1) will be the 10th satellite launched by Arianespace for the operator AT&T/DIRECTV. The most recent launch was on May 27, 2015, lofting SKY México-1 and DIRECTV 15 on the same Ariane 5. AT&T/DIRECTV, a world leading provider of digital television programs, will use the SKY Brasil-1 satellite via its DIRECTV Latin America subsidiary. SKY Brasil-1 is a high-definition television (HDTV) broadcast satellite. Weighing approximately 6,000 kg. at launch, it is fitted with 60 Ku-band transponders. SKY Brasil-1 will be positioned at 43.1° West, and will cover Brazil. The satellite was built by Airbus Defence and Space in Toulouse, France, using the Eurostar E3000 platform.

 

After Telkom 1 and Telkom 2 respectively launched in 1999 and 2005,Telkom 3S will be the third satellite entrusted to Arianespace by Telkom Indonesia, this time within the scope of a turnkey contract with Thales Alenia Space. Telkom Indonesia is an Indonesian state-owned company that supplies telecommunications, information, media and entertainment services (TIMES) to millions of customers throughout the Indonesian archipelago.

 

Telkom 3S will provide high-definition television services (HDTV), as well as mobile communications and internet applications. Positioned at 118° East, Telkom 3S will provide C-band coverage of Indonesia and Southeast Asia, while extended C-band beams will cover Indonesia and part of Malaysia.

It also is fitted with Ku-band transponders dedicated to national coverage. Telkom 3S was built by Thales Alenia Space in Toulouse and Cannes, France, using a Spacebus 4000B2 platform.

Share on Twitter
Please reload

Integrasys
ND SatCom
Azure Shine
Comtech EF Data

CONNECT WITH US: ...marketing made simple... 

© 2019 DS AIR Limited. Satellite Evolution Group is a wholly-owned subsidiary of DS Air Limited. United Kingdom

Email: admin@dsairpublications.com

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
RSS Feed